Kian Egan shoots his new Music Video *I´ll Be* in Strandhill

02/05/2014 19:18

The Sligo Champion 29 April 2014 

He has never forgotten his hometown and Kian Egan is putting Strandhill on the world stage by filming his latest Music Video there.

Locations include Shelly Valley, Coney Island, Strandhill Beach and Culleenamore. The former Westlife star shot the video for his second single, I´ll Be, on Thursday last.

He said that he wanted to showcase his home place in his video. He added that he was 'so proud' to do the video in Sligo. The glorious sunshine certainly added to the visual appeal, with Benbulben and Knocknarea provoding ample backdrops. He said that the video crew arrived in Sligo on Wednesday to do some recce of the area of the shot. 

"We spent all day shooting the second single so I showed them the spots that would work well for the video, which is a bit more colourful and natural than the first video," he explained.

"On Wednesday evening I had a session to get the clothers right for the shoot which went on all day."

"This Video is focused a lot on the landscape and is all about dramatic beauty shots so I was proud to do it in Sligo."

"The director wanted to capture the video in a very natural light so it was just me on a normal day, sitting there with an acoustic guitar."

"We kept away from the main places in Sligo and stayed around quieter spots so not many people knew about the video." he added.

Later, Kian and friends gathered in Culleenamore. 

As The Voice of Ireland wrapped up on Sunday, Kian said that he was disappointed not to have any acts in the final. 

He said: "I am mainly disappointed for Jay because I really believe that he should have been in the final and I feel that the voting system is all wrong."

He said that he would prefer a voting similar to the Eurovision format to be fairer to contestants.

Along with wife Jodi and son Koa, Kian said that he really enjoys spending time in Strandhill, when his busy schedule allows.

Thuesday, was his 34th birthday and he was in Donegal with fellow surfers celebrating before the weekend. 

"I start every day by going for a surf when I´m in Sligo to clear the head and it sets me up for the day."

'I´ll Be' will release in May