Kian Egan: "The Voice of Ireland needs to pick a real star this year."

03/01/2015 09:18

The former Westlife member said the show must find a singer who can make it to the top of the charts

Voice of Ireland Judge Kian Egan


Voice Of Ireland coach Kian Egan says the show needs to create a successful artist - regardless of whether the star comes from his team.

The outspoken 34-year-old will be taking his seat on the red chair again when the series kicks off on Sunday at 6.30pm on RTE One.

And Kian reckons the programme needs to find a singer who goes all the way to the top of the charts.

Kian said: “It’s been quite unfortunate that we have never had a big success off the back of the show. And I think we need it now - it doesn’t matter whose team it comes from, we need a winner who will have a big hit and that the Irish public will want to go out and buy the record and go to the concert.”

Last year’s winner Brendan McCaughey has not yet released his debut album and Kian hopes he might change the pattern for former winners.

He said: “I would love to think that Brendan is going to do that but I haven’t heard his album yet. I am sure he has made a great record but we all know it’s just not that easy, there are so many elements to it.”

The Voice of Ireland judges


So would the lack of a hit record for former winners Pat Byrne and Keith Hanley make Kian think twice about releasing more solo records himself?

He said: “Yes and no - I mean, I had a top ten record with my first solo album Home which went to number two in Ireland and number nine in the UK and for a first time solo artist to me that was amazing, that was a success.

“I have come out of a band like Westlife but that was phenomenal, that is a completely different thing.

“And I know I am never going to scratch the surface of what Westlife did as a solo artist.

“It is just being able to do it and that is what becomes successful for me. I have had my big career in the music world and now it’s more of doing it because I am still getting to make music, a thing I am very passionate about. ”

Since Westlife split Kian has carved out a successful career for himself on television as well as releasing Home.

And he said the aftermath of being in a band like Westlife can be daunting.

He said: “The curse of being in a successful band is when it is over and you’re coming out the other side of it, it’s a case of: “What am I going to do next? And the TV work has been great it has kept me going and I have been busy.

“Winning I’m A Celebrity was a big boost and brought on other stuff for me but now there’s a new winner and you’re wondering what’s next? Is it going to end now?

“But if it does, so be it. Westlife finished in 2012 and I have had 15/16 years of success in the music and entertainment world and if it does end I will look back on it and be thankful for what I have had.”

Kian reckons if work dried up in the entertainment business, he’d try his hand at something else.

He said: “I would try and live a normal life and I don’t know, maybe run a little surf shop, a little cafe, a little restaurant. Who knows?

“Me and Jodi have always joked about opening a little theatre school.”

Kian Egan and Jodi Albert


Kian and his wife Jodi have a son Koa, who has just turned three and they have another baby on the way.

And he admits he loves being at home and working on The Voice Of Ireland.

Kian said: “I love coming home to Ireland and being able to work here - it gives me a great opportunity to feel connected to the place.

“A lot of my work has been in the UK since the end of Westlife so being able to do something at home and be involved in one of the biggest shows on TV in Ireland is amazing.

“When I am working in the UK we all travel as a family, over and back. That’s the way we have always done it since Koa was born and I think we will continue to do it until he’s at school.

“When that happens we will have to make a decision based on where we feel is right, see where work is at and see what’s going on in life.

“Life changes so much when you are in this position and that can be quite difficult sometimes as you just have no idea what’s around the corner.”

Kian enjoys the buzz of TV but he says he hasn’t given up music for good - he’s just taking his time with the next record.

He said: “TV is enjoyable and it’s different - there’s pressure on you but it’s not the same kind of pressure as music. I want music to be enjoyable, I don’t want it to be stressful in that you have to sell X amount of records, I want to do it for passion reasons.

“So I am taking a bit of a step back from it at the moment and trying to go a more organic route - writing songs again, chilling out with it and just making the next album when I am ready to - not when someone else wants me to.”

In the meantime he will be giving the value of his experience to his new team on The Voice Of Ireland.

And this year he’s not looking for any one genre.

He said: “We all have really strong singers and there is a lot of great talent.

“I haven’t really squeezed myself into any criteria as regards pop singers or rock singers. I’ve just gone for the people I think have a great voice.”

And he reckons the new coaches Una Foden and Rachel Stevens have added new life to the programme.

Una Foden, Kian Egan Bressie and Rachel Stevens get settled in


Kian said: “Una and Rachel have done really well - they have come in and brought a new vibe to the show. Una is really funny - she’s come out with a few corkers and one liners. And Rachel is very sweet - she reminds me an awful lot of Sharon Corr and the way she was on the show.

“She doesn’t like to say anything that might upset someone but she has formed a great team for herself.”

Kian said he has been approached with other ideas but he’s not keen on putting himself out there as a chat show host.

He said: “I have had a few conversations about chat shows but they are very difficult shows to hold down.

“Some people slag off Ryan Tubridy but it’s a very difficult job he has to sit there and keep people engaged.

“I would love to make a surf documentary and that’s another passion of mine. And what does everyone want to do in life but take a passion and turn it into a job? I’ve done alright with that so far.”

*The Voice Of Ireland returns to RTE One tomorrow (SUN) night at 6.30pm

 

Source: The Irish Mirror