Kian: "Surfing, walks and stir fries with Jodi fill my first days off this year."

25/04/2014 18:54

I have a few days off for the first time since the start of January so I have been making the most of it by hanging out in Ireland and spending time with my family.

The last few days have been mainly about preparing for my second music video, which was shot in my hometown of Sligo last Thursday.

The single, I'll Be, is a follow up to my debut solo track Home and will be out next month.

It was a lazy start to the week following the Voice of Ireland semi-final on Sunday night so I just made breakfast for my family on Monday and hung-out with the little fella – my son Koa.

I don't have an act left in the Voice after losing Paddy Molloy and Jay Boland on Sunday night, but I am over it now.

I am mainly disappointed for Jay because I really believe that he should be in the final and I feel that the voting system is all wrong.

It is so difficult for an act when other singers have their whole town voting for them and I don't think Bressie or Dolores (O'Riordan) gave him the scores that he deserved.

I would love to see a voting system similar to the Eurovision format coming in which would allow provinces or designated parts of the country to pool their scores together and give a varying set of points to each act.

I think that would work quite well and would result in more fairness.

I try and keep Sligo as my base while the Voice is going on so I stay here during the week unless I have to slip off to the UK for a job and then we drive up to Dublin on the weekends.

I start every day by going for a surf when I'm in Sligo to clear the head and it sets me up for the day.

Myself and my wife Jodi (Albert) had friends over on Monday evening so it was a chill-out day. 

On Tuesday, I had some father/son time with Koa who was daddy's little helper and he helped me clean out the garage.

Then we went for a really long walk on the beach with Jodi and her dog, Prince.

Koa had some ice cream and played on the beachfront on Strandhill and then I came home and made us a stir-fry with vegetables for dinner.

It was an early start on Wednesday as the video crew arrived in Sligo to do some recce of the area ahead of the shoot on Thursday.

We spent all day shooting the second single so I showed them the spots that would work well for the video, which is a bit more colourful and natural than the first video.

SHOOT

On Wednesday evening I had a session to get the clothes right for the shoot which went on all day yesterday.

This video is focused a lot on the landscape and is all about dramatic beauty shots so I was proud to do it in Sligo.

The director wanted to capture the video in a very natural light so it was just me on a normal day, sitting there with an acoustic guitar.

We kept away from the main places in Sligo and stayed around quieter spots so not many people knew about the video.

 

THE VOICE OF IRELAND LIVE FINALS KICKS OFF ON RTE1 THIS SUNDAY AT 6.30PM

Source: herald.ie

Photos: posted by @JodiAlbert → instagram.com/jodialbert & @KianEganWebNews