I'm no Mr Nasty, says Voice coach Kian

01/02/2014 00:33

The Voice of Ireland coach is tired of playing the villain and says this season viewers will see a more light-hearted side of his personality.

"I think year one of The Voice I got edited very unfairly," he laughed.

"Because they needed a Mr Nasty. And I probably gave them the tools to do that.

"This year it's more lighthearted – there's a lot more fun, a lot more comedy."

And Kian says there will be no pantomime-style rivalry between himself and fellow coach Niall Breslin.

DIFFERENT

"The first thing I said to Bressie when I came back this season was 'Look man the last thing I want is arguing, it's boring, let's get past that' and he agreed."

Viewers became aware of Kian's softer side when he appeared on ITV's hugely popular show I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here Now!

He said: "A lot of people have said I came across differently on the show. But they're different shows.

"What I'm doing on The Voice is I'm being a coach. I have to give advice and judge people on their voice. So naturally it comes across differently to I'm A Celeb.

"But I always just try to be myself."

The former Westlife star says he had no idea he would be crowned the King of the Jungle.

"No way did I expect to win – not in a million years," he said. "The whole thing for me was just the experience."

The Voice of Ireland will return this week and according to producers there are several shake-ups in store.

Coaches can now steal other coaches' singers and Eoghan McDermott is presenting a new backstage spin-off show for RTE 2.

hnews@herald.ie